Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Polaris GENERAL® 1000 EPS Deluxe Reviews

2019 Polaris GENERAL® 1000 Deluxe Orange Rust is rated 4.5 out of 5 by 584.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Hunter edition general I bought this six months ago, overall somewhat disappointed. The engine had a large oil leak when used in cold weather (possible breather froze and pressured) that did go away after dealer could find no issue. The handles on the full doors are not good, broke driver side handle on the outside of the door after two months with no abuse. This caused me to keep the window open to open the door resulting in the window bracket hitting the seatbelt mount inside the cab and breaking also. The rear window panel release for cab doors hits the seatbelt mount when you shut the door which makes it more difficult to latch the door. Just a bad spot to make the shoulder mount on seatbelt in the same location that the window latch needs to be at when you shut the door. Happy with the suspension, ride, and steering.
Date published: 2018-06-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great rig but not with Polaris tip-up windshield. I love the machine. It has power up the wazoo. the seats are comfortable. Before I picked it up, they installed the high dollar glass windshield and rear window. Shortly after getting it home, the windshield started to show cracks at two different mounting spots. This is with no offroading at all. Just temperature changes. Not getting anywhere with Polaris warranty.
Date published: 2019-02-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from The good and the bag I bought the general 1000 the beginning of this year. I also drove the can Am commander driving the two side by side the general was a clear winner. The power of the general is clean and potent the suspension is good but more work than hard play ground clearance is good stock tiers perform exselent seating is comfortable. Plastic on body dose not a line well lots of openings that need protection to keep mud and rocks from damaging critical parts like the battery, fule tank and radiator. Over all an exselent machine but for the money should not need to buy extra protection for basic things like battery, fule tank and radiator.
Date published: 2019-05-29
Rated 1 out of 5 by from polaris general with ride command I've only got a half a tank of fuel ran thru it since I bought it in feb. right off the showroom floor the screen for the ride command wouldn't light up, at all. Should have been a clue. They think they have it fixed this time. HERES HOPING. The stereo does not recognize my ipod in Bluetooth or hooked to the usb port also has no aux port for my serius radio. Needs more clearance the one ride I went on it hit the bottom so many times my grandson said I think we better stop an see if we still have a muffler. He's 6 an we were in a 2 seater. Very disapointed
Date published: 2019-05-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Hoo Rah Almost perfect! Unit has plenty of power, ride is very good, seats are very comfortable. My only complaints is the roof doesn't go out even or past the doors, so when it rains it will still come in on you. I would like to see either a molded drip rail that would extend out even with the doors or a wider roof with drip rail built in. And my other issue is the fenders, they are practically useless as far as keeping mud and wet limerock etc from spraying all over the sides and in the cab.
Date published: 2019-01-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great machine I’ve had it out just about every weekend for the last two months. Coming from owning a 2014 can am maverick this is a change but I needed a bed Keeps up in trails with other sxs on the market and the rzrs. Yard work the bed really comes in handy for gravel and firewood. Comfortable seats. Doors are an add plus. Corner is okay. Wish there was a selectable power steering like can am has. Drain plugs on the floor fall out easy. You will lose those first. The knock noise as it goes into gear before you press the gas is louder than I’d like but overall it’s a nice machine. I would recommend and have to friends and family
Date published: 2019-09-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Polaris General Flaws I purchased a Polaris General and on my first excursion - just a little trail ride for a wiener roast up in the mountains. A stick or rock kicked up and broke the drivers side front inner fender as they are just made of plastic. Replacing this is a very long and tedious effort for the average person. Took me about 15 hours, that is with some help and it is definitely a two person job in some spots. Worse than that there is no after market safety shield to add which makes me even angrier, also I completed the new purchase survey that Polaris sent me and was very up front about this, so much so I thought someone would contact me. I have not been contacted because this is in my opinion a serious safety flaw.
Date published: 2020-01-27
Rated 3 out of 5 by from It is a nice feature I have it about 3 months & started using & trying to learn the whole system. I wish it would work with some of the other systems so it could be used like for the Onx map system to work together. Mine has some issues because it won't keep the mapping that start recording. Keeps deleting, The stereo keeps rising the volume but won't go back down when you let the engine idle back down. Keeps deleting my waypoints
Date published: 2018-12-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from General I bought this 2 months ago. Got the new automatic plow package and heater. The plow system doesn't fit right to activate the kickstand and was told I had to remove the front brush guard. Well that's not going to happen because the installation schematics all show the front brush guard on the machine. The heater works for a day at a time. The fuse was replaced once by the dealer. Brought it home in working order. 3 days later we got some snow so I fired up the General to do some plowing and the heater wasn't working again.
Date published: 2020-01-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Best of both worlds I bought this unit because of the capabilities of work and play but have extremely enjoyed the trail riding capabilities it possesses on the trails with the load it can handle. I have been impressed with the power and the ride is comfortable in the seats. My wife and I have enjoyed our time together in our General. Price point is a little steep but I understand why. Overall I have been pleased with this unit. I am a little unhappy about the plastics on the machine not fitting together in some places but what can you do.
Date published: 2019-01-11
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great ride, missing attention to detail I have had the bike about 3 months now and pleased overall with the ride, comfort and performance. What I have not liked was the minor issues I have been having, for example; The door don't fit right and rattle all the time, the dump box is the same. The shift indicator came off when away on a long run and could only drive in low, replaced a $2 clip and was back in business. When assembled at the dealership not all bolts were tight and had to torque all the bolts. The belt also made a lot of clunking noise, not sure if this is because of break in but sounds ruff.
Date published: 2019-11-26
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Mediocre This Polaris continues to exhibit poor fit and finish on the body panels and the seats (upholstery is sub par) -The doors rattle and there are a lot of other creeks and rattles coming from the chassis. Parts are too expensive and I believe the completion is going to win out. In addition the stereo will not allow a blue tooth connection to our I pod . Over all the unit is below average in my opinion. ALSO _ the wheel wells are dirt traps - why these areas do not have a liner and larger wheel flares is beyond be - the unit slings mud and water everywhere instead of deflecting it away fro the passenger compartment
Date published: 2019-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome My second side by side and supper happy with it, my only issue is on the ride command system, the GPS doesn't have off road maps or topo maps available. Why have a off road vehicle and not have off road mapping
Date published: 2018-08-15
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Josh beitel This is an amazing machine I have owned multiple side by sides and nothing compares to this machine There are few features that need addressed: The speaker that is mounted has no bass so everything you listen to is high pitch which is very frustrating The drain caps in the floor I have 2 of them that pop out regularly when I have guesses riding with boots I am using this machine to hunt and travel from spot to spot When u hit water and it comes up thru a drain plug hole that’s frustrating I love the power great versatility for this hybrid machine
Date published: 2019-01-28
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Nice Ride, overheats if in mud We bought this in April, took it for a trail ride, ran smooth until we went thru mud and sand. Since then we have brought it in twice to be cleaned because it keeps overheating!
Date published: 2018-07-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from power, traction and handling super My cousin and I bought a pair of these about two months ago and we are glad we did. I hoped it would deliver the Polaris reliability and so far so good. Haven't put enough hours on it yet to give it a good review but I really like it so far. One thing I can say is that it climbs better than my polaris 800 sportsman quad. These things are unbelievable. The bed is large enough that we can store all of our gear for a day ride without problem. The EPS steering is the only way to go on these.
Date published: 2020-02-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fantastic!! My wife and I bought the General to replace our 800 XP Ranger. Our Ranger was a 2010 model and served us very well. We wanted to get something that was more trail friendly on longer rides, but still offered us the utility use around our property. When we first took it out on a short ride we notice that the ride was much smoother and the power was awesome!! The color we picked set it apart from most UTV's in our area. We had a heater and stereo installed when we made our purchase and both have made a big difference. The heater works well and to best sum it up a warm and happy wife makes for a happy husband. The power and comfort of this machine has everything I was looking for and more in our upgrade. I wish that I would have upgraded sooner.
Date published: 2019-10-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the bike. Not the Polaris Company Love my bike but Polaris warranty isnt worth a ”flip”!! Water got in the clutch housing and long story short I needed a new clutch and belt. They wouldn’t warranty it because of the water that got in it. What are these bikes made for?? To sit in the garage or be used. Why not make the housing for the belt actually seal worth a “flip” so water couldn’t get in so easily. Y’all make it so it don’t deal up properly and then don’t cover it if water gets inside.
Date published: 2020-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks cool Good machine, we've put about 700 miles on it , had to take back to dealer within a few miles pulled hard to the right they fixed it somewhat put a bunch of accessories on it windshield and windshield wiper from Polaris the wiper kit was a waste of money it only goes 145 degrees so the windshield on the passenger side only clears a tiny bit for the passenger for the money you would expect it to go 180 degrees can't belive Polaris would put there name on it. Other than that it runs good, not much storage in it and needs a little more clearance to.
Date published: 2020-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Everything we wanted We actually went into the dealer with the intent of buying two Sportsman ATV's. I had wanted to get a Ranger for some time and we both were not keen on the RZR because it just seemed only trail focused. My girlfriend saw the general and jumped right into the drivers seat. So as they say the rest is history, we went home with the General that day. We love it for the trails. For working around the property. I am looking forward for Ice Fishing season to start. I will eventually put tracks on it for winter time use.
Date published: 2020-07-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Reverse headlight and winch switch location Please As a lot of the trails we run at night have buggies going both ways, the need to switch from highly to low beams often is real. Getting my hand down between the small space between the door and steering wheel while moving can be tricky. Moving the witch rocker to the left of the wheel makes more sense as we don’t use that while moving and the head light will then be with the other rocker switches so we can power down the other lights all in the same place/motion. Off not that, then Don’t wrap the harness in such a way that we can’t relocate ourselves. Please find a better air intake solution/location than above the wheel on the side! Most of us don’t drive straight up rivers, we need to cross them, so having the air intake broadside to the current seems silly. My RZR has it between the seats at shoulder height. So the General is supposedly the best of both worlds, it missed the common sense of air intake and rocker switch location. In the accessories area, please come out with a full door solution with a real window solution. Your option now wants me to fold the window forward. Anyone who rides wooded trails will figure out quickly that the window will trap branches and be torn off in short order. Real storage options in the cab please! I don’t baby my General and it hasn’t let me down yet, just need to address the fit and finish issues so I don’t regret not gonna with the CanAm.
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Have now owned our General for about 4 months, it is simply the best side by side I’ve ever used. Capable of all mud, trails, and use around camp that we have tried. On the recent Lewis County Buck Run I pulled two other ATVs out that we’re stuck after running circles around them in the muck. It throws you back in the seat when you floor it and goes up and down every angle we have tried. My 14 year old step-daughter handles it with ease. If I had one complaint it would be the number of small areas all around the bottom and back that simply fill with mud and are obnoxious to clean.
Date published: 2018-10-25
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love this side by side! My husband purchased this for me for mother’s day and we both completely agree that it’s was the best fit for everything we wanted. I love that the full high doors come stock, love all of the accessory options. We have 3 kids so we opted for a bench seat in the back and it’s so nice to have them harnessed up! Surprising to me we’ve actually used the gps quite a bit riding out on forest service land to see where different trails end up and finding new ways back to the truck. We love the sound bar and it was a big selling point for us! Love this machine and would definitely recommend
Date published: 2019-08-12
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Ok machine doors suck I bought the General 8 months ago. Fairly happy, constantly have to adjust the doors where we can ether get into or out for the cab. Wish the dump was easier to close.
Date published: 2018-08-14
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Poor quality Within 2 weeks of buying a new unit the front axle broke. Polaris covered it but it was still in the shop for 2 weeks. Now one side of tailgate doesn’t latch and high beam switch won’t stay on. The unit has 20 hours on it and we only ride around on our 150 acres and don’t ride hard. For 24k it’s not worth the money.
Date published: 2019-08-02
Rated 3 out of 5 by from GPS Purchased in December as of June have 400 miles on it, drivers door wont open from out side having issues with bearings going bad.
Date published: 2018-06-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Happy with purchase Happy with everything but the fit of the plastic body panels. ( doors separating and panels on dump bed separated)
Date published: 2018-12-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from We Upgraded Our Ride My wife and I have been riding Can Am’s for the past 10+ years. Two months ago our son talked us into updating our rides to a side-by-side. We looked at all the brands starting with the Can Am’s and found the Polaris General the eases to get in and out of with the best ride and power. We made it street legal and soon it became our go to ride for around town. We added a home made head liner with some sound proofing to the back fire wall. Now it’s a real nice ride. Our friends who have other brands say our ride is so much better, the next one they are getting will be a Polaris.
Date published: 2019-09-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Runs good, a few quality issues. We were sold on the power of the unit. The ride command features are awesome. This machine is made for a family of four. Unfortunately we are faced with a couple issues with our unit. The two right hand doors were not adjusted properly from the factory and have been rubbing into each other. This was noted on the second day we had the unit home. Both doors have paint damage. There is a awful rattle in the LH drivers door. The noise drowns out the conversation taken place with the family. We are getting to the point we we want to take the doors off just to have a more comfortable ride. My Polaris glass windshield is coming apart on the upper right hand corner. On the cabin side of the glass. Last the ride command radio is very weak. I would never expect this to be perfect but you literally have to turn it up as loud as it goes just to here the tunes. Very surprised you have to max the volume out to get a decent sound. I would love to be excited in regards to recommending the General to a friend. I honestly can't say I would at this point. I have always been a fan of Polaris. This is the third Polaris we have owned. Still struggling with a few things.
Date published: 2019-02-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Bang for the buck For the price is was disappointed and than they try to sell an extended warranty. It is so stripped down, I'm surprised it came with wheels. the Polaris snowmobiles are ready to go. It's hard to clean after mudding, to many pockets and groves. No storage on it only a glove box. Decals had bubbles on them. They are load, I would think it would have had a better exhaust so you could talk.
Date published: 2018-11-14
  • y_2020, m_8, d_3, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.10
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_584
  • loc_en_US, sid_R19RGU99AF, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_polarisorv
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 160ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT