Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Polaris GENERAL® 1000 EPS Deluxe Reviews

2019 Polaris GENERAL® 1000 Deluxe Orange Rust is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 626.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2019 General I've only had it out for a few rides so far as it was purchased late last fall. I like the glass front & back windshields, very well designed. No rattles like the plastic ones I had on my RZR. I'm very unhappy with the heater on it. I paid a lot for this feature & at least expected to blow some warm air from the vents. I had it out riding in 20 degree weather & I couldn't feel any warmth when I held a bare hand in front of any of the vents. I wrapped & taped/sealed poly over the rig for a test, kept testing the temps with my meter & it only got 80-90 right at the vents after running 45 min sitting stationary. No way that would be suffice with it moving! Finally got it into the dealer who said that's all it does..... Note below; I would not recommend the heater to anyone, but the unit itself I would.
Date published: 2018-03-11
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Rides great Polaris accessories suck Rides great Polaris upper doors fit terrible, drafty when you enclose it, tire alignment is terrible and the a-arms are not adjustable, all in all I’m content with it however if they don’t make major changes I’ll be making a switch from Polaris in my next machine even thought I’ve had Polaris since ‘97
Date published: 2020-01-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from General Purchased the General and am very unhappy that the tailgate doesn't latch, rubber on seal of the passenger door what loose, and tailgate had a scratch and dent in it. Contacted the dealer and nothing was done. For the price of the machine, it should have also come with a remote for the winch.
Date published: 2019-06-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Wish I was happier I bought this new in November. I wanted the Ride Command but can't stand the black and gold color so we had to get a 2018 to have red. I am used to our 2013 RZR 900. We have 5300 miles on it and were going to sell it but decided to keep for a while. We went up the mountain and got into the snow on New Years Eve. The RZR literally ran circles around the General. I was very disappointed in how it handled and how it struggled. It was really hard to control compared to our RZR. The bucket seats in the RZR are also more comforable. The General, although bucket seats, sit up more like a bench seat. The passenger seat needs to slide back or the glove box needs to push back into the dash so that you don't hit your knees. I don't understand why Polaris wasted leg room with space behind the glove box that can't be used for anything.
Date published: 2019-03-13
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Hoping for the best I have had my general for 3 months. The first weekend out, I had zero issues. The SXS failed to start on the second weekend. After a couple weeks at the dealership, it was determined that the injectors were the issue. They were replaced... the next trip out, it ran for two hours before falling victim to the same issue. It was brought to another dealership as I was 1000miles from home. They determined the injectors were the issue again and replaced them. The following morning we got two hours out of her before it wouldn’t start again. After many attempts, it started but was in limp mode. When I brought it to my dealership, it was still in limo mode. The following am, the mechanic said it stated fine, and has done so since. I am taking it out this weekend for another go at it. I hope it doesn’t ruin yet another weekend away.
Date published: 2019-06-14
Rated 4 out of 5 by from rural bc I bought this in Sep 2019 and have yet to ride as we have 3 feet of snow. I HATE the tailgate LOCKS they DO NOT function at all and I have to bungee it CLOSED. so disappointed in the tailgate design. I love the quick power response and I that winch functions past expectations.
Date published: 2020-02-29
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Awesome machine I've owned numerous makes and models of ATV's since the early nineties from banshee, honda 250r, grizzly 600, raptor 660, and several others.I've even had a kx250 good ole 2 stroke but this is my first side by side. Let me just say I wanted a little work and mostly play from my first side by side and I got more than I expected. I know there are rzr's out there but the general is alot of play. Handles better than any ATV I've ridden and just so much more fun.
Date published: 2019-10-03
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great Ride I would give it 5 stars but the doors are not the best for the price you pay. Both inside handles have broke off. Maybe due to mine coming off the show room floor and being opened a lot. Besides that I have no other complaints at this time. The best I've had up to date.
Date published: 2018-11-01
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Very nice ride Had this ride for a couple of months now. Completely satisfied with everything except the sound bar. No complaints at all with the exception of the sound bar and it is completely junk. I would not ever recommend this sound bar to anyone, complete waste of $.
Date published: 2019-05-28
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good machine with some needed improvements The General has very good power and is good for summer use. I bought it with plans to ride in winter conditions. Then I learned there is a clutch air intake vent on the side of the vehicle which clogs with snow in a very short time, even with the Frog Skin cover. So, I have limited use in snow, as would be the case in any dusty situation. The gear shifter is hard to move even after taking it back to the shop. Again, it is a good summer toy.
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Junk not a long warranty Not impressed with this machine the transmission went out with only 150 mile of easy riding and it's been in the shop waiting for parts for over a mounth and my 6 months warranty is almost over. So I wish I never had bought this junk
Date published: 2019-10-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Maps horrible Mapping on ride command is horrible. Trails missing, maps and roads end if your not riding in preset and designated ride areas
Date published: 2018-06-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Polaris general 1000 deluxe I originally purchased a ranger xp 900, and it was awsome. The only thing that was not up to my level of expectations was its trail performance. Which is how i got to the general , and its ability to sill have a snow plow
Date published: 2019-07-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Beyond amazed with the versatility of the General! I bought the 2018 Polaris General hunter edition in November and have already taken it through about everything. It’s quick for the smooth traveling and incredibly smooth for trails as well. I use the bed everyday for feeding animals and I have never had a complaint. The General is by far the best piece of equipment when it comes to side x sides throughout any company. I’m impressed to this day and have yet to find something I don’t like.
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Great Machine! 2019 General Belt fried within 6 hours. Took it back to the dealer and was told it was a not a warranty part. Kind of disappointed due to the fact that this machine was/is brand new. Had belt replaced, and note it runs like a top!
Date published: 2019-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from great features, excellent power, awesome seats I still own a turbo razor. The general is a true cross between a razor and a ranger. Does everything well. Is very sporty while still being very functional/ utility. It is a very comfortable unit. The fit and finish is better than the razor. While first driving the general late this fall, i truly did not miss the turbo power. The only thing i have to get used to is it feels a bit more tippy compared to the razor. Can't wait for spring.
Date published: 2019-01-29
Rated 4 out of 5 by from 2018 General I am happy with the machine itself, but the enclosed cab pieces not so much. Let’s in a fair amount of cold air. Was driving down hwy in snow storm and cab filled up with some snow. Not what I want to climb into
Date published: 2019-02-05
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Looks cool Good machine, we've put about 700 miles on it , had to take back to dealer within a few miles pulled hard to the right they fixed it somewhat put a bunch of accessories on it windshield and windshield wiper from Polaris the wiper kit was a waste of money it only goes 145 degrees so the windshield on the passenger side only clears a tiny bit for the passenger for the money you would expect it to go 180 degrees can't belive Polaris would put there name on it. Other than that it runs good, not much storage in it and needs a little more clearance to.
Date published: 2020-07-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Unique ride Bought this General a little over 3 months ago. It is the perfect blend of fun and utility, combined with great looks. The bed is the perfect size for our dogs to go along when we ride.
Date published: 2018-03-22
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Awesome Machine We bought this about 3 months ago and having a blast with the machine. It’s a great machine, used for off roading and hunting. Biggest down fall is having to service it every 25hrs!
Date published: 2018-11-27
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great upgrade from my 2012 Rzr S. Bought this in Dec. Already did a few upgrade. Love the way Polaris is building machines we can accessories to. Like running wire thru rollcage and room for additional switches.
Date published: 2018-03-08
Rated 4 out of 5 by from General limited 2018 I bought this unit back in November already had to fix both door latch not to happy about this because of the six month warranty i feel this is a safty issue to get out if I or somebody riding really had to get out quickly if you had to not good we had two other for wheelers for about fifteen years and had a razor this was fun but had issues with four wheel drive problems I’m taking a chance that this general is a much better machine I hop you’re quality and the performance of this new machine makes me happy otherwise i will looking for another brand
Date published: 2018-03-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Almost Perfect Except Great Machine!! But would really like to see: "Locking" hard cab doors "Locking" cargo box - WATER Proof Air Conditioning A little more tilt to the seat backs
Date published: 2018-12-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Solid machine Very happy with the overall power and performance of the general. Tons of aftermarket parts to make it fit all of your needs. I do wish the factory warranty lasted longer. I wish it came with 10” wide tires the whole way around. And I also wish that you wouldn’t have to buy the top of the line model to get better than basic shocks. But I will say it surprises me every time I ride with how capable this machine really is.
Date published: 2018-12-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Adequate and Enjoyable We purchased in May. After months of upgrades and improvements we were ready to hit the forest trails. We added Front and Rear Windshields. A wiper and washer system. The front windshield opens. This is a must for air flow since we added the side windows that don't open. I wouldn't recommend the side windows that don't open. The machine does not have an Air Conditioning option and the heater accessory blower motor doesn't provide enough airflow. We also noticed as the machine got dirty the blower motor started pushing warmer and warmer air. The fresh air intake should be higher on the machine. We would buy A/C if they offered it. We upgraded the winch to a remote operated unit so a single rider can get themselves unstuck. An LED Lightbar for the nights that come early. A 3 gallon gas can for all day riding and emergencies. A headliner for noise dampening. A MUST was the Trail Armor skid plate. We felt that work again and again on the rocky trails. The Ride Command was a great help but we still needed the local trail maps with the trial identifiers. The Ride Command Navigation lacked the details of trial numbers/trail names. We would love an opportunity to help fix that through an interactive feature that would allow us to "report an improvement" through the app. The radio and speaker system lacks signal pickup and sound quality. Maybe Satellite Radio in the future?? We would also like to see a Satellite weather alert system. Overall, the machine had plenty of power and with our upgrades we stayed fairly clean and had a great time enjoying the woods. Some of these upgrades allowed us to ride longer and further than our counterparts with open machines. They also give us the confidence to go riding solo and take overnight trips. We spent a bunch of time in Marinette and Florence County Wisconsin. Many of the trails were very well marked and groomed. The locals were friendly and very helpful in helping us plan our day.
Date published: 2018-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Features, Its like sitting in a pickup truck My family and I love recreational trail riding with our ATV/UTV vehicles. We put on a lot of miles all year long enjoying the Wisconsin trail systems.
Date published: 2019-09-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice ride...except for..... I bought my General 2 months ago. Overall I like the machine. It is comfortable, but very noisey. I changed the clutch to eliminate the radical EBS.
Date published: 2018-10-30
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice machine Bought this in October 2018 its now January 2019 and the door plastics are separating and the box side plastics will not stay in place.
Date published: 2019-01-10
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Weak drivetrain I have had a very bad experience with mine. Winch motor burnt out. 2 bearings went bad. 2 engine fault codes. All within 2 months.
Date published: 2019-06-13
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Great machine Bought this machine 3 months ago and love it. The only issue is it doesn’t start good at 0 c, even though it’s in the garage
Date published: 2018-11-22
  • y_2020, m_9, d_19, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.12
  • cp_3, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_626
  • loc_en_US, sid_R19RGU99AF, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_polarisorv
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 49ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

All pricing, specifications, claims, and information contained on this website are based upon current knowledge available at time of publication and are subject to change without notice, and Polaris assumes no responsibility for changes in pricing or specifications. Polaris assumes no responsibility for any inaccuracies, opinions, or omissions on this website. ©2020 Polaris Inc.