Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Polaris GENERAL® 4 1000 EPS Reviews

2019 Polaris GENERAL® 4 1000 Matte White Metallic is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 131.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun Machine, Lacking on Fit and Finish The General 4 is a fun machine with plenty of power and a great ride. I have noticed that the fit and finish on things is lacking. Between the facia on the tailgate not staying on and the tops of the doors, which were supposed to be re-designed, separating, there are a lot of little things that were overlooked. As I have gone through the machine adding accessories, I've had to fix things like a pinched gear shift cable, realigning the doors, adjusting one of the rear door handles so it automatically returns, fixing a front seat that the spring fell out of the retaining handle. I hope mechanically the machine holds together better than the shell.
Date published: 2019-02-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Performs exactly as expected I purchased the general after owning a Ranger Crew 800 and Ranger Crew 900. The General definitely fits the bill as a "crossover" between utility and sport. I did have an issue with the motor in hour #1. This resulted in the motor being replaced at the dealership and Polaris provided us with an extended warranty free of charge to compensate us for our inconvenience which I thought was an excellent response. Overall our experience so far with 60 hours on the general has been very good. So far everything remains tight and performance is quite good. My one complaint is the lack of storage. There is really no good space to store tools, a strap or even a spare belt. Something needs to be done about this !!!
Date published: 2019-01-08
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Nice machine; poor turning radius Bought the general last year. Nice looking machine. However made the mistake of not test driving before purchase (VERY bad on me). We have a lot with a steep grade and a couple tight turns required to get around. Had to sell it back to the dealer. This machine has a VERY wide turning radius. Couldn't even come close to making the turns I needed. May be good for open country but it your going to be operating in the woods I'd stay away.
Date published: 2020-01-31
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Great I've had this u it for 3 months out of the three months I've gotten to use it 3-4 times, it's been in the shop for over 2 months this is a poor way to start out with a new unit, parts that were suppose to be under warranty are but they have stretched out the repair so long that it's taken all the new and excitement out of mine and my family purchase, but the unit itself when running is very enjoyable!
Date published: 2019-01-07
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Excellent starting platform I bought this machine a couple of months ago and this is my 5th Polaris SXS. I’ve had to make some changes to suit my riding needs but overall a very good starting point off the showroom floor. I’d advise Polaris to put front tender springs on like the rear because the front end sags a lot and really is too low. I also added arched a-arms, some light bars and a much needed rear sound bar to the existing front. Outside of the sagging front end this thing is awesome off the floor. Being my 5th SXS is by far my favorite. Great job Polaris.
Date published: 2018-08-02
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Simple & easy to use We sold our 2019 CanAm X3 to get a more usable cross over type rig & our General has been a great fun car that accommodates all of our families needs in comfort & style. Best cross over all around work & play SXS on the market. Very simple and usable car with a good solid performance base but still has a dump bed, tow hitch and a very roomy interior.
Date published: 2020-02-18
Rated 2 out of 5 by from Not what I expected Cheaply made, parts break easily, transmission cracked after 200 miles, tailgate fell off along with the bezel. Dealer provided me the unit with a broken seat, 8lb of tire pressure, tie rods not properly adjusted. Very disappointed in overall quality, rust on parts of the roll cage.
Date published: 2018-11-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good Machine Everything is great about this machine other than at only 38 miles, the engine light came on and power was reduced to limp mode. Could only go 10 mph and was 15 miles from home.....made for a long trip home. The hassle of loading on trailer and taking to dealership was irritating and it only took then 20 minutes to fix....some sort of sensor or computer problem. Its just irritating to know that this could happen in the middle of a mountain somewhere!!!!!
Date published: 2018-06-21
  • y_2020, m_7, d_3, h_15
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.9
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_131
  • loc_en_US, sid_R19RHE99AD, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_polarisorv
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 7ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT