Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Polaris GENERAL® XP 4 1000 Reviews

2022 GENERAL XP 4 1000 Deluxe Matte Ghost White Metallic is rated 4.3 out of 5 by 167.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from General I purchased this machine end of July I had less the 30 miles and the rear differential started leaking. It took 3 weeks for it to get fixed, which sucks when you spend that much money on a machine and cannot use it. I got it back and ran it and found it was leaking oil again on the rear differential. I’m not sure if that was the dealership I took it too’s fault or what but I was out again not being able to ride my 27k machine. I opened not to get the extended warranty but now I’m not sure that was a good idea for fear of what else might break on the machine. I love the machine but not to sure of the quality that Polaris is putting out there at this point.
Date published: 2020-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable and love ride command We purchased it in June with a heater add and unfortunately on our first couple of rides overheated. Because the dealers were backed up I tried bleeding the air out myself with limited success. Finally brought it in and let the dealer have it for a week or two to get it fixed. It is a pleasure to drive and love the ride command and the stereo feature. Other frustrations were when the heater was installed they had to remove the subwoofer and had no alternative location to install it. It also has an vibration hum at a certain rpm and the rear camera appears to have failed. Unfortunately another lengthy stay at the dealership.
Date published: 2020-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like the unit, But there is some poor features. I like the machine, however it is mind blowing that this machine has been produced without an engine brake, and the fact that it had not been communicated by polaris that they have decided to remove that feature. very hard on the brake system which should be upgraded as you are fully reliant on breaking as there is no engine braking, remotely problematic in my opinion. Why does a 42k machine come with a IWR winch cable? i looked at the 2 seaters (as they had no 4 seaters in stock) XP comes standard with synthetic winch rope and magnetic fairlead??? why did mine not come with this standard aswell? it sure was expected......
Date published: 2020-08-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poorly built machine I bought this in July. We will start at the front and work our way back. The ride command does not work. Black screen and will not come on. Before the ride command went out. The speakers had a terrible high pitch squelch even when radio was off. The driver door panel is not on properly. You can see a space between the blue and black plastic that is not the same on the passenger door. The passenger seat rocks. Like it’s not bolted in well. Not sure if it’s supposed to do that or not. The rear fenders pop off when riding and the last and loudest. The belt grinding noise when going down a hill.
Date published: 2020-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun Machine But Lacks in the Snow The General XP1000 is a phenomenon machine for what it was built for. That said I used my SXS as a hunting rig in the snow during the winter months in Idaho. Compared to others that I have owned it was sub par in moderate snow conditions. I attribute this to the narrower stiff tires. But even with chains on it wouldn’t go where my other machines will go. I’ve sold it and have a Ranger Northstar on order. If you’re after a fun rack crawling machine for the family and some gear this is a great unit. But if you Hunt or spend much time in the snow you’ll either need tracks or a different machine.
Date published: 2021-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Polaris general xp4 I bought this unit literally the day of lock down here in California. It is the best side by side in my opinion, but polaris's customer service is above and beyond expectations. Days after cruising the internet i came across advertisement for Polaris Hero program. Being a vet I was quite bummed I didn't get to take advantage. Long story short, due to the Covid I was unable to bring this to polaris's attention till a month later. They stepped up and made it right, despite it nowhere near being any fault of their own. I'm a polaris customer for life. Probably will even switch brands for my snow Toys as well, being I've been riding "the other brand" for years. Polaris customer support is awesome.
Date published: 2020-06-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Ride Overall I like it. It rides great. Has plenty of power. There are a couple things I'm not impressed with though. First, at 250 miles the front tires had wore almost a half inch off the tread. After some research I found out they are apparently set up for high speed off road cornering. So they are toed out. If someone would have told me that I could have set it up for more on road riding like we do and saved us on our tires. Secondly I wasn't expecting the plastics to be falling apart as much as they are. We have 600 miles on it now and more than one piece is loose. Its a atv I get its not car quality, id expect for 30k it would be a bit better though. My only other complaint is just the nature of the beast. It gets HOT in the cab on a warm day. We only have a front and rear windshield. Probably should invest in a vented front windshield in the future. Overall though I think we are happy with the machine
Date published: 2021-10-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not impressed at all !! I bought this brand new with Polaris accessories. I had to adjust all doors, tailgate, rebuild all the seats to fit in the proper spots, and the radio speakers aren’t working as should due to an issue with ride command updates. The belt lash is terrible and Polaris has not got a hold of me about a fix. Only gave me a free belt and extended warranty a couple months. Which doesn’t fix my problem. The tailgate clips under the handle are a poor design and fall out. And they are a special clip. Would submit a better review if Polaris actually did something about these issues.
Date published: 2020-08-17
  • y_2021, m_11, d_28, h_18
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.20
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_167
  • loc_en_US, sid_G22GMD99AC, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_polarisorv
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

All pricing, specifications, claims, and information contained on this website are based upon current knowledge available at time of publication and are subject to change without notice, and Polaris assumes no responsibility for changes in pricing or specifications. Polaris assumes no responsibility for any inaccuracies, opinions, or omissions on this website. ©2021 Polaris Inc.