Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Polaris GENERAL® XP 4 1000 Reviews

2022 GENERAL XP 4 1000 Deluxe Matte Ghost White Metallic is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 177.
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Not impressed at all !! I bought this brand new with Polaris accessories. I had to adjust all doors, tailgate, rebuild all the seats to fit in the proper spots, and the radio speakers aren’t working as should due to an issue with ride command updates. The belt lash is terrible and Polaris has not got a hold of me about a fix. Only gave me a free belt and extended warranty a couple months. Which doesn’t fix my problem. The tailgate clips under the handle are a poor design and fall out. And they are a special clip. Would submit a better review if Polaris actually did something about these issues.
Date published: 2020-08-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great machine with the extras I was wanting This new General XP 4 Factory Customer Edition first caught my attention by it's looks alone. Then, seeing all the great features that came standard, like the 30" tires mounted bead-lock wheels, the high-clearance A-arms, and color scheme, I was sold. Having driven this fast and fun beast and how well it handles of all types of trails, leaves no doubt that I made a great decision. To ensure I can ride even in the snowy winter months, I purchased and installed the Polaris upper soft doors. What a great addition and great quality. Had the dealer install the Polaris heater to compliment the upper doors. Stay toasty warm and the wife loves (as do I) everything about this machine. I've also added other options and even designed and fabricated my own rear rack to accommodate a spare tire, gas can and fire extinguisher. Photos are pre upper doors.
Date published: 2021-03-12
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Excellent machine!!!! We love our new general 4 seater!!! I wouldn’t own anything else!! The ride command is so user friendly and love all the options. Great experience!!!
Date published: 2022-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Fun ride We bought a General for its versatility, from using it for chores around our property to trail riding it handles it all.
Date published: 2022-05-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! The look, handling, and suspension is amazing! The seats are very comfortable! It’s the new member of the family!
Date published: 2021-10-21
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Versatile side x side Nice machine for trail riding, hunting and working around the yard wiyh the turf mode.
Date published: 2021-07-30
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Nice Ride Overall I like it. It rides great. Has plenty of power. There are a couple things I'm not impressed with though. First, at 250 miles the front tires had wore almost a half inch off the tread. After some research I found out they are apparently set up for high speed off road cornering. So they are toed out. If someone would have told me that I could have set it up for more on road riding like we do and saved us on our tires. Secondly I wasn't expecting the plastics to be falling apart as much as they are. We have 600 miles on it now and more than one piece is loose. Its a atv I get its not car quality, id expect for 30k it would be a bit better though. My only other complaint is just the nature of the beast. It gets HOT in the cab on a warm day. We only have a front and rear windshield. Probably should invest in a vented front windshield in the future. Overall though I think we are happy with the machine
Date published: 2021-10-05
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Good ride but already issues This vehicle was purchased in June and I have had many issues with the machine. This weekend while out riding, one of the rear shocks leaked. It seems like an issue occurs each time I look at the vehicle. Both of the rear doors were not adjusted correctly from the factory and it caused both rear doors to have paint chipping from the corners. Overall it has been stressful and always something to worry about. I did not have these issues with our old Ranger. The ride of the vehicle has been a big upgrade and it is very enjoyable.
Date published: 2020-09-24
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Fun machine with great ride I bought the general out of operator comfort. The seats, doors, suspension, gauges, and so many other features make the general XP a great machine. It comes with a winch, radio, full doors, and front bumper with 30" pro armor tires. That being said I give it 4 stars only for the lack of power compared to a normal XP 1000 RZR.
Date published: 2021-09-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Almost made it great I was so excited for my new General waited 2 months for it. Got my machine and found out the doors seal like crap. Took it back to the dealer and 3 weeks later my full OEM doors still seal like crap. Kind of makes the heater worthless. You pay a bunch of money for parts that aren’t really worth that much money and expect a superior product. The Can-am defender door seal and that heater will cook you out of the machine. Why is it that I can buy new doors for a car for less then I can for a general? I know I’m not the only customer that’s unhappy with this product. I suggest you look into making these better. Oh and what about the ride command why is it that the speakers only work on the front channel? There are plenty more gripes I have but I think you get the point.
Date published: 2020-12-26
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Love the Machine But Not the Exhaust Noise Great ride! Great machine! But the exhaust noise takes away from the enjoyment of being in it. Polaris offers nothing to resolve this issue. Seconds market cost for a muffler to reduce noise by 9 decibels is exorbitant. Other than that, I love everything else about my General XP 4 1000 Deluxe.
Date published: 2021-07-30
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfort and confidence. I love the different ways I can use my General, from hunting to use in my yard. While deer hunting it gave me a dependable ride in a a comfortable seat. It drove through some deep ice covered water holes on our old logging two track trail into our hinting area. The four seats allowed us to transport all camp members and gear. At home it has been a workhorse plowing out our driveway in the heart of winter in Michigan. Added windows, roof liner, and heater, allow me to get the driveway clear in comfort.
Date published: 2021-02-20
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great overall vehicle I am very pleased with my purchase of the Polaris General XP 4 Deluxe with Ride Command. It is very versatile and it has performed very well with every challenge so far. The ride is great and it has been perfect for my family and friends. People are very surprised when they see the design and performance capabilities of this machine. The ample storage and the easy to install accessories are great. I am very happy with the Ride Command. I would recommend spending the extra money for that option.
Date published: 2020-08-01
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Package Versatile machine, from riding on my manicured yard in turf mode to navigating some of the most extreme off-road conditions in 4 wheel low range, this machine will appeal to the masses and go virtually anywhere.
Date published: 2021-09-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from This is one great rig Picked up our 2020 General XP 4 1000 a few months back and have enjoyed it ever since. I put it thru it’s paces for about 400 miles the first month having it scouting for an upcoming elk hunt and was really impressed with this machine. It has great power, handles any terrain I put it thru exceptionally well, has a very comfortable ride even with being in the seat hours at a time, and has great features. This is not my first side by side but is definitely the one that has impressed me the most. I couldn’t be happier with my purchase of this machine. Only drawback is that I can’t hook a two way radio up thru the Ride Command system. Other than that it is a great overall machine that I would definitely recommend, in fact my brother in law was so impressed with it that he has ordered a 2021 as well.
Date published: 2020-11-22
Rated 5 out of 5 by from All around machine! What do you wanna do today? Clean up the yard, go for a trail ride, move a deer stand? No matter what your plans are this machine can handle it all. Best Polaris we’ve owned to date!
Date published: 2022-04-20
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Extremely Comfortable, Trail Ready! Our General is perfect for our family. It combines the fun of off-roading, the comfort of a sports car, and the functionality of a work horse.
Date published: 2021-03-04
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Family fun hybrid machine. Like most reviews out there this vehicle is made for every day use or stepping up and ripping the trails or dunes.
Date published: 2021-09-17
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Love it! Lots of room for bodies and gear. Pulse bar for easy 12v power access if great! Nothing but, love it!
Date published: 2021-09-14
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Manamal Always on trips or on the ranch working and riding around the acreage having fun with grandchildren
Date published: 2022-04-30
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Terrible This machine with less than 20 hours has spent more time in the shop than in my possession.
Date published: 2021-06-11
Rated 5 out of 5 by from The Cadillac of side by sides The machine does just about everything you can ask of it.
Date published: 2022-05-15
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Great Machine Great overall Machine!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Date published: 2022-03-31
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Disappointed! The General did not live up to my expectations given it’s overall price point. The engine is extremely very noisy even with a back window installation. Some other features would be nice to see as standard components, such as: front windshield, heater, turn signals, horn kit & the addition of soft coverings on several exposed metal components in the cab. Belt slap noise has been an issue since the first day of riding...sucks that an aftermarket vendor has a $400.00 clutch kit available to fix and improve the clutch on this high price point machine that Polaris should have already addressed by recall with new & improved clutch components. The engine oil filter is also very difficult to remove and replace...could use a remote oil filter to improve ease of access. We do love the powerful engine, tires, great headlights and spacious cab.
Date published: 2020-11-09
Rated 3 out of 5 by from 2020 General XP 4 review Problems with belt slap, ride command volume, shock tender springs collapsed already, driver rear wheel 3 degrees difference than passenger side, doors were all loose, fixed myself, called Polaris on belt slap still waiting on solution. Paid good money for this machine and all these problems with no solution. No I’m not very satisfied or happy. I had a 2012 rzr 900xp that was bulletproof. Sold it for this piece of junk.
Date published: 2020-10-06
Rated 4 out of 5 by from tow hitch soft and under built Hey Polaris. All in all i am really psyched on the General. It rules. Biggest complaint is the Hitch! it was SO hard to get anything into it like Bike rack or a hitch and ball to pull a small trailer. Then, when I was able to get bike rack in (Yakima 4 vertical mountain bike rack) the hitch mount bent so fast and now has bent so much I can't even use it. Metal was too soft. seriously a weak point!
Date published: 2020-10-16
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Amazing family ride This thing is amazing! We absolutely love the ride and comfort of it. You stay clean and dust free on rides, others in our group asked if we were on the same ride because we were so clean while they were covered in dust. The only complaint I have is the Ride Command stereo doesn't have the sound quality you would expect for the price tag, the subwoofer basically doesn't do anything for sound.
Date published: 2020-09-23
Rated 4 out of 5 by from All around great machine I bought this machine about 2 months ago. I already have over 400 miles on it. I have been very impressed with it so far. Amazing comfort and stability. Plenty of power. Only negative things about it: chattering noises when starting to move forward in high gear, Very noisy when coming down a hill (transmission holding back?) And the placement of the oil filter ( hard to get to).
Date published: 2020-06-17
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Would return my 2020 XP if I could XP has clutch problems. On my machine the back wheels lock up when you let off throttle and tires drag. No solution as of writing this. Would return this if I could.
Date published: 2020-10-12
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Good machine for the most part Good product for the most part . Clutching needs improvement due to belt slap. Accessories for this product not very available for example upper doors been on back order for months, took 2 weeks to get a windshield/rear window and upper bumper because it was backordered from the factory, dealer had to do dealer trade to get me the accessories i had originally ordered.
Date published: 2020-11-17
  • y_2022, m_8, d_14, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.32
  • cp_2, bvpage2n
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_177
  • loc_en_US, sid_G22GMD99AC, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_polarisorv
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 62ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

**Availability of some equipment, options and/or features, including Wi-Fi connectivity on RIDE COMMAND models, may be limited or not available due to global supply issues affecting our industry. Please continue to build your vehicle and request local dealer price but be sure to work with your local Polaris dealer to ensure the vehicle you purchase includes all expected features and equipment.


All pricing, specifications, claims, and information contained on this website are based upon current knowledge available at time of publication and are subject to change without notice, and Polaris assumes no responsibility for changes in pricing or specifications. Polaris assumes no responsibility for any inaccuracies, opinions, or omissions on this website. ©2022 Polaris Inc.