Skip to content Skip to navigation Skip to footer

Polaris GENERAL® XP 4 1000 Reviews

2022 GENERAL XP 4 1000 Deluxe Matte Ghost White Metallic is rated 4.4 out of 5 by 177.
Rated 4 out of 5 by from General I purchased this machine end of July I had less the 30 miles and the rear differential started leaking. It took 3 weeks for it to get fixed, which sucks when you spend that much money on a machine and cannot use it. I got it back and ran it and found it was leaking oil again on the rear differential. I’m not sure if that was the dealership I took it too’s fault or what but I was out again not being able to ride my 27k machine. I opened not to get the extended warranty but now I’m not sure that was a good idea for fear of what else might break on the machine. I love the machine but not to sure of the quality that Polaris is putting out there at this point.
Date published: 2020-10-16
Rated 4 out of 5 by from Comfortable and love ride command We purchased it in June with a heater add and unfortunately on our first couple of rides overheated. Because the dealers were backed up I tried bleeding the air out myself with limited success. Finally brought it in and let the dealer have it for a week or two to get it fixed. It is a pleasure to drive and love the ride command and the stereo feature. Other frustrations were when the heater was installed they had to remove the subwoofer and had no alternative location to install it. It also has an vibration hum at a certain rpm and the rear camera appears to have failed. Unfortunately another lengthy stay at the dealership.
Date published: 2020-09-08
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Like the unit, But there is some poor features. I like the machine, however it is mind blowing that this machine has been produced without an engine brake, and the fact that it had not been communicated by polaris that they have decided to remove that feature. very hard on the brake system which should be upgraded as you are fully reliant on breaking as there is no engine braking, remotely problematic in my opinion. Why does a 42k machine come with a IWR winch cable? i looked at the 2 seaters (as they had no 4 seaters in stock) XP comes standard with synthetic winch rope and magnetic fairlead??? why did mine not come with this standard aswell? it sure was expected......
Date published: 2020-08-19
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Poorly built machine I bought this in July. We will start at the front and work our way back. The ride command does not work. Black screen and will not come on. Before the ride command went out. The speakers had a terrible high pitch squelch even when radio was off. The driver door panel is not on properly. You can see a space between the blue and black plastic that is not the same on the passenger door. The passenger seat rocks. Like it’s not bolted in well. Not sure if it’s supposed to do that or not. The rear fenders pop off when riding and the last and loudest. The belt grinding noise when going down a hill.
Date published: 2020-11-15
Rated 3 out of 5 by from Fun Machine But Lacks in the Snow The General XP1000 is a phenomenon machine for what it was built for. That said I used my SXS as a hunting rig in the snow during the winter months in Idaho. Compared to others that I have owned it was sub par in moderate snow conditions. I attribute this to the narrower stiff tires. But even with chains on it wouldn’t go where my other machines will go. I’ve sold it and have a Ranger Northstar on order. If you’re after a fun rack crawling machine for the family and some gear this is a great unit. But if you Hunt or spend much time in the snow you’ll either need tracks or a different machine.
Date published: 2021-03-31
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Polaris general xp4 I bought this unit literally the day of lock down here in California. It is the best side by side in my opinion, but polaris's customer service is above and beyond expectations. Days after cruising the internet i came across advertisement for Polaris Hero program. Being a vet I was quite bummed I didn't get to take advantage. Long story short, due to the Covid I was unable to bring this to polaris's attention till a month later. They stepped up and made it right, despite it nowhere near being any fault of their own. I'm a polaris customer for life. Probably will even switch brands for my snow Toys as well, being I've been riding "the other brand" for years. Polaris customer support is awesome.
Date published: 2020-06-16
Rated 1 out of 5 by from Disappointed I am sadly disappointed in the entire process with Polaris. We ordered our machine and waited over 8 months to have it delivered which is actually the least of the disappointment as we understand Covid caused issues. Within 4 hours or 20 miles the clutch belt needed replacing after no off road use or high speed driving. Now we are under a do not drive recall it’s almost comical we are debating selling for something else.
Date published: 2021-11-08
Rated 5 out of 5 by from Comfortable Fun I am in my 60's and so are my friends. The Polaris General XP 1000 allows us to get out and see nature again. We love to go on hike into nature but as we got older we found are selves to be very limited on how far we could go. With our new Polaris General we can now drive deep into areas that we would otherwise not see, and because it is so comfortable we can ride all day without getting tired. I love this machine and it has certainly given us the opportunity to get back out into nature.
Date published: 2021-08-04
  • y_2022, m_9, d_26, h_20
  • bvseo_bulk, prod_bvrr, vn_bulk_3.0.34
  • cp_1, bvpage1
  • co_hasreviews, tv_0, tr_177
  • loc_en_US, sid_G22GMD99AC, prod, sort_[SortEntry(order=RELEVANCE, direction=DESCENDING)]
  • clientName_polarisorv
  • bvseo_sdk, net_sdk, 3.2.0.0
  • CLOUD, getContent, 0ms
  • REVIEWS, PRODUCT

**Availability of some equipment, options and/or features, including Wi-Fi connectivity on RIDE COMMAND models, may be limited or not available due to global supply issues affecting our industry. Please continue to build your vehicle and request local dealer price but be sure to work with your local Polaris dealer to ensure the vehicle you purchase includes all expected features and equipment.

All pricing, specifications, claims, and information contained on this website are based upon current knowledge available at time of publication and are subject to change without notice, and Polaris assumes no responsibility for changes in pricing or specifications. Polaris assumes no responsibility for any inaccuracies, opinions, or omissions on this website. ©2022 Polaris Inc.